James: A Peak Experience

Today we went up to the summit of Gokyo Ri. It was approximately 18,000 feet, and boy did I feel the altitude! It took about an hour and a half, but it felt like forever. When I finally got to the top, I could see for miles. I could see Everest, Lhotse, and many other huge mountains. As I reached the summit, the sun began to set and the mountains turned a beautiful shade of light pink, then dark pink, then a sort of maroon, and then purple until only the mountain silhouette was left. As I began the walk down, all the light faded from the mountain and the sky became dark. I turned on my headlamp and continued down. The trail was illuminated in front of me, and the sky was a dark blue and clear of all clouds. Over a jagged mountain peak a crescent moon shone in bright silver. Today was the
highest I have ever been, and I won’t soon forget how magical it was.

One thought on “James: A Peak Experience

Leave a Reply

